No front brakes

Topics related to the ownership, maintenance, equipping, operation, and riding of the R1150R.

Moderator: Moderators

opposedtwin
Basic User

No front brakes

Post by opposedtwin »

New to forum so I want to say hello to everyone and hope to make my first post understandable. Recently I had to replace a front brake hose on my 02 BMW R1150R because of a leak. Brake failure light and the check (?) light to its left was alternately blinking. Replaced hose but still have the lights blinking and there is no brake lever resistance when applying front brakes. Lever pulls to handlebar but has no braking effect. When applying rear brake I can hear a whirring noise, servo I assume, and rear brake seems to work properly but I haven't tried riding bike yet. Blade fluid levels are ok. I have no experience with the type of brakes on this motorcycle and I am at a loss on what to attempt to solve this problem (short of taking it to a dealer). What do you suggest?
Sunbeemer
Basic User
Donating Member #: 593

Re: No front brakes

Post by Sunbeemer »

Welcome, opposedtwin. Good handle!
You've found the best place on the web to get closest to the correct answers to questions you have about your R1150R.

While I don't have ABS and am not an expert, it sure sounds like you need to bleed air out of the brake line between the brake lever and the ABS servo pump (control circuit?)
Rich
ADIOS!
reidmct
Basic User
Donating Member #: 0

Post by reidmct »

You need to do two things:

1. Figure out which type of ABS you have. I think oyu have Integral ABS, but I might be wrong.

2. Seach this forum to find links to illustrated step-by-step how-to guides on bleeding ABS systems.

Or, take it to an authorized dealer. The fluid level you checked is just one of two separate hydraulic circuits for the front brakes. There is another circuit whose fluid level is undoubtedly very low and probably also heavily air-laden. You must either search/learn/do, or take it to someone who has.