Engine whirr/whine

Topics related to the ownership, maintenance, equipping, operation, and riding of the R1150R.

Moderator: Moderators

Dgdecker
Donating Member #: 1

Engine whirr/whine

Post by Dgdecker »

I’m new to BMW’s & have a 2004 r1150r, 26,000 miles. Running very well But have a whirring noise seemingly from the left side of the motor between 3100-3500 rpms. Sound is not there below or above that range. Is this “normal” or indicative of a problem developing? Thanks for any advice.
Photoguy
Basic User
Donating Member #: 678

Re: Engine whirr/whine

Post by Photoguy »

Hey there- Just popping in to say that as far as I'm aware I don't have that kind of noise, at least not the I've ever noticed wearing a FF helmet. I always felt these engines had kind of a sewing machine whir to them (exhaust note aside). Maybe posting a video could be helpful for somebody to shed more light than I can?
sstein
Donating Member #: 25

Post by sstein »

if it rides fine probably ok
2002 R1150R
"Better is the enemy of good enough"
- my brother-in-law's brother
riceburner
Basic User
Donating Member #: 0

Post by riceburner »

Dgdecker wrote:I’m new to BMW’s & have a 2004 r1150r, 26,000 miles. Running very well But have a whirring noise seemingly from the left side of the motor between 3100-3500 rpms. Sound is not there below or above that range. Is this “normal” or indicative of a problem developing? Thanks for any advice.
it COULD (possibly) be a symptom of an older (less efficient) cam-chain tensioner on that side? IIRC the tensioner that needs to be upgraded is on that side of the bike.

The upgrade (IIRC) is for a tensioner that doesn't leak oil out of it's reservoir when the engine is not running (the tensioners are pressurised by the oil-pump)
Non quod, sed quomodo.

A Rockster Life
gregor
Lifer

Post by gregor »

I found that 20/50 oil quietened mine considerably. You can head the chain slapping for a few beats until the oil pressure builds up after an oil change.