Shinko 705 mileage report

Topics related to the ownership, maintenance, equipping, operation, and riding of the R1150R.

Moderator: Moderators

towerworker
Lifer
Donating Member #: 575

Shinko 705 mileage report

Post by towerworker »

I just replaced both 705's on my R. 15,100 miles front and 12,400 on the rear. I put on a new pair of the same. The rear was pretty well done. The front still had a fair amount of tread left but was cupped pretty badly. I've never gotten such mileage out of tires. Bike has a bit over 101,000 miles.
The Older I Get, The Less I know. (in honor of MikeCam
'05 RT
'04 R
'03 R
CB750
KZ750
HD 350 Sprint
Mrclubike
Donating Member #: 1

Re: Shinko 705 mileage report

Post by Mrclubike »

That is very good mileage
Can anyone comment on other tire mileage
I am new to the R1150R and wondering what I may expect out of my Sumitomo/Dunlops
Last edited by Mrclubike on Fri Nov 08, 2019 8:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
82 R65
04 R1150R
Mrclubike
Donating Member #: 1

Post by Mrclubike »

The 705 is a dual sport tire
Just wondering why you use them
Are they good for gravel roads
With that kind of mileage I may try a set
I run in to gravel roads sometimes and it may be a good idea to have them
82 R65
04 R1150R
towerworker
Lifer

Post by towerworker »

Mrclubike wrote:The 705 is a dual sport tire
Yes they are great for gravel and that's why I bought them. Often times my back road exploring here in Va puts me on gravel and dirt roads. With conventional street tires I would get a bit nervous on such and I've even gone down when doing something simple like a u-turn. They're considered