Odd Electrical Fix !!

All other motorcycle related topics go in here." However, DO NOT post ANY messages that are related to politics or religion in here. They will be erased. Thanks!

Moderator: Moderators

AZBMWRIDER
Basic User
Donating Member #: 1

Odd Electrical Fix !!

Post by AZBMWRIDER »

I've got an '87 Guzzi V65 Lario, bought it 5 years ago, got it on the road in April of this year .

The bike was parked in '06 for not being able to pass exhaust emissions testing as part of the annual registration renewal process .

The bike has the same Bosch charging system that the airhead BMW's have .

The charge indicator light has glowed dimly since I started riding the bike .

I went through the charging system, removed the brushes, the length was fine, replaced the brush springs, replaced the regulator and diode board with known good parts off of an airhead .

Checked all of the connections all tight and no corrosion, the bike has been in Arizona it's whole life and garage kept .

Last week I installed a headlight harness from Eastern Beaver, it uses relays, so the bikes original headlight circuit activates the relays and the relays carry the heavy electrical load for the headlight .

I noticed that the charge light is not dimly illuminated any more and the voltmeter on the bike shows 2 volts higher at idle than it did before, at 3500 rpm, the voltage at the battery is 13.7 volts, barely got to 12 volts before .

Disconnected the new harness and reconnected the wiring like it was before, same conditions as before, charge light on and low voltage agin .

The bike has a new AGM battery and is fully charged .

Any ideas why the new harness will cure the problems ??

Make no sense to me at all why it does !!!!!!
'02 R1150R, Atlanta Blue
Been riding since 1979, BMW's since 1981 .
4 R65's, '87 Guzzi V65 Lario .
CycleRob
Honorary Lifer

Re: Odd Electrical Fix !!

Post by CycleRob »